Skip to main content

The Frederic Esser Nemmers Prize in Mathematics

Nominations are currently closed.

The $300,000 Frederic Esser Nemmers Prize in Mathematics is awarded for achievement and work of lasting significance in the field of mathematics. The prize was established in 1994. Recipients of the Frederic Esser Nemmers Prize present lectures, participate in department seminars, and engage with Northwestern faculty and students in other scholarly activities.

2022 Winner

Bhargav Bhatt, Image courtesy University of Michigan

Bhargav Bhatt

University of Michigan, Institute for Advanced Study and Princeton University

For his "revolutionary contributions to algebraic geometry in mixed characteristic through a new synthesis of ideas in topology, algebra and arithmetic."

As the Gehring Professor of Mathematics at the University of Michigan and the Fernholz Professor of Mathematics jointly with the Institute for Advanced Study and Princeton University, Bhargav Bhatt is interested in algebraic geometry’s connection to number theory, commutative algebra and algebraic topology. More about Bhatt's work.

Make a Nomination

Nominations are currently closed.

Nominating letters should be a maximum of 1,000 words and describe the nominee's professional experience, accomplishments and qualifications. Candidacy is open to those with outstanding achievement in their discipline as demonstrated by major contributions to new knowledge or the development of significant new modes of analysis. Individuals of all nationalities and institutional affiliations are eligible except current or recent members of the Northwestern University faculty and recipients of the Nobel Prize.

Submissions should also include the nominee's curriculum vitae. Nominations from experts in the field are preferred to institutional nominations; self-nominations will not be accepted.

For more information about the Frederic Esser Nemmers Prize in Mathematics, visit the Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences' Department of Mathematics.


Frederic Esser Nemmers Prize in Mathematics Medal

Questions? Please email