Skip to main content

The Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics

Nominations are currently closed.

The $300,000 Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize is awarded for achievement and work of lasting significance in the field of economics. The prize was established in 1994. Recipients of the Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize present lectures, participate in department seminars, and engage with Northwestern faculty and students in other scholarly activities.

2022 Winner

Ariél Pakes, Image Courtesy Harvard University

Ariél Pakes

Harvard University

For his "fundamental contributions to the development of the field of empirical industrial organization as it is applied to the study of market power, prices, mergers and productivity."

As the Thomas Professor of Economics at Harvard University, Ariel Pakes develops methods for empirically analyzing market responses to environmental and policy changes. More about Pakes' work.

Pakes will be delivering his Nemmers lecture "Pharmaceutical Advertising in Dynamic Equilibrium" on Friday, October 13 at 4 p.m at White Auditorium, 2211 Campus Drive, Evanston Campus as part of the Nemmers Prize Conference. Register now.

Learn about past Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics winners.

Make a Nomination

Nominations are currently closed.

Nominating letters should be a maximum of 1,000 words and should describe the nominee's professional experience, accomplishments and qualifications for the award. Candidacy is open to those with careers of outstanding achievement in their discipline as demonstrated by major contributions to new knowledge or the development of significant new modes of analysis. Individuals of all nationalities and institutional affiliations are eligible except current or recent members of the Northwestern University faculty and recipients of the Nobel Prize.

Submissions should also include the nominee's curriculum vitae. Nominations from experts in the field are preferred to institutional nominations; self-nominations will not be accepted.

Learn more about the Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics at the Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences' Department of Economics.

Submit a Nomination Online

Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics Medal

Questions? Please email